直播购物是否将在中国以外的市场流行?

Managing Editor
Rethink Retail

十一月 11, 2022

Adobe最近发布了其数字经济指数,该指数针对美国排名前100的数字零售商中的80家,分析了1亿个产品SKU的逾1万亿次在线交易。该指数显示,4月份的数字商务增长了49%。

根据 CommerceNext 在 2020 年 月的一项调查,随着越来越多的购物者尝试网上购物,大多数零售商认为,其中至少有 40% 的人将延续这一习惯。

但即使政府已经取消了限制措施,零售商也开始实施重新开放战略,店内客流量的恢复仍然遥遥无期。而在中国,非接触式零售更加关注包括直播在内的许多数字化渠道。

事实上,有超过 亿的中国公民参与直播。根据阿里巴巴旗下淘宝网的数据,去年有 亿用户观看了由品牌、店铺或网红主持的 万多场购物直播,产生了 280 亿美元的收入。

问:直播购物是否将在中国以外的市场流行?

Tony DOnofrioTD Insights 首席执行官兼 RETHINK 零售顾问

David Adelman:零售策略师兼 T.A.G 总裁

 

Tony D’Onofrio:

我关注中国的原因是,中国在数字化商务方面领先于世界其他市场。如果您想研究下一步举措,可以将其作为范本示例。例如,中国有 亿人使用移动支付。人脸识别技术已经得到了广泛应用,该技术目前更多地运用于支付。中国有数百家无人商店,而美国只有不到几十家,在欧洲则更少。我确实认为直播是具有发展潜力的,因为我们拥有着骨干力量。例如在美国,我们有 QVC 和 Home Shopping Network,但这些还远远不够。

如果您观察一下中国市场在直播方面的表现,就会发现它更多的是真正将内容营销纳入其中,让具有影响力的人进行直播,并融入大量的娱乐性活动。所以,直播主持人作为市场中的名人,他们担当微观影响者的角色,与观众进行密切互动。而且在限时促销期间,他们还会直接点名粉丝并说:“现在下单立享优惠。”

人们非常重视娱乐,我认为娱乐是未来零售业的关键组成部分。它能让购物变得有趣。美国和其他西方市场面临的挑战是,娱乐将为那些陷入困境的领域提供帮助。我了解到的最新预测显示,今年百货商店的销售额将下降 29%,特别是包括服装在内的纺织品将下降 20%

所以直播是一个好主意。我不确定那些正在努力或有兴趣对此进行投资的品牌,是否真正将购物变成娱乐,根据您引用的统计数据创建名副其实的直播新渠道。

 

quote image about livestream shoppingDavid Adelman:

他们被称为“主播”,我知道这是一个奇怪的名字。我们生活在一个视觉世界里。我们已经从过去的铅字、脚本和稿件发展至现在囊括图片、视频和图像的社交媒体平台,而且它还在继续向前发展。

最近我看到了麻省理工学院的一项研究显示,大脑会对 90% 的信息进行视觉处理。这让我感到很震惊,因为我们明明还有其他的感官。嗅觉非常重要,口头表达也非常重要。我觉得淘宝这个平台真的非常出色。虽然我不想这么说,但它让 QVC 看起来像是上世纪 50 年代的产物。

当我现在再看它们的节目时,我忍不住心想“哦,我的天啊。QVC 简直太复古了。”这种反差是巨大的。我认为那是世界上最棒的方式。你可以派出最优秀的销售人员,而通常情况下在零售店门店是无法做到这一点的。你可以邀请具有影响力的网红。你还可以请演员进行现场演示,仿佛亲身体验产品一般,然后进行在线销售。还能有什么比它更棒的模式呢?我认为相比婴儿潮一代,世代和千禧一代可能更容易接受这种购物方式,因为他们已经习惯了这种类型的界面。我相信这是未来的趋势,但可能需要一段时间来适应北美市场。

 

Tony D’Onofrio:

您说的很有道理,但千万别忘记,门店才是最能产生盈利的零售场所。电子商务和所有这些其他渠道虽然看似容易获利,但您的额外成本会大大增加。如果您参加了亚马逊最近的财报会议,就会知道,他们虽然获得了很高的总收入,但没有产生任何净利润,因为他们需要把钱用于维持渠道的运营。所以,尽管我认为直播是一个很好的范例,但它必须与其他模式相结合,而不能成为主要的解决方案。

这段对话首次出现在 月 18 日的《Retail Rundown》节目中。

此外,如果您想了解有关零售业未来的更多信息,请查看我们关于该主题的全新白皮书。

 

The future of contactless retail whitepaper

联系我们

我们很想听到您的声音! 请填写表格,离办公室最近的人将与您联系。

让我们重新创造未来

Insights

Will Livestream Shopping Take Off Outside of China?

Will Livestream Shopping Take Off Outside of China?

Will Livestream Shopping Take Off Outside of China? Will Livestream Shopping Take Off Outside of China?
Managing Editor
Rethink Retail
Gabriella Bock

July 02, 2020

Adobe recently released its Digital Economy Index, which analyses more than one trillion online transactions across 100 million product SKUs for 80 of the top 100 U.S. digital retailers. The Index showed digital commerce jumped 49% in April.

As more shoppers move online, the majority of retailers believe at least 40% of them will stay online, according to a commercenext survey from April 2020.

But even as governments lift restrictions and retailers begin implementing re-opening strategies, the recovery timeline for in-store foot traffic remains questionable. When we look to China, contactless retail incorporates a greater focus on many digital channels including live streaming.

In fact, over half a billion Chinese citizens engage in live streaming and, according to Alibaba’s Taobao, last year 400 million users watched its 60,000-plus Livestream shopping shows hosted by brands, stores or influencers, generating $28 billion.

Q: Will Livestream shopping take off in markets outside of China?

Tony D’Onofrio: CEO of TD Insights and RETHINK Retail Advisor
David Adelman: Retail Strategist and President of T.A.G

Tony D’Onofrio:
The reason I follow China is that China is ahead of the rest of the world in digital commerce, and if you want to study examples in terms of what to do next, they actually are taking the lead. So, for example, they have 600 million people that use mobile payments. Face recognition is widespread. In fact, it’s now being used more for payment, cashierless stores are in the hundreds versus we only have been in the dozens or less in the U.S., and even less in Europe. I do think live streaming has a possibility because we have the bones of it, for example in the U.S., with QVC and Home Shopping Network, but that’s not enough.

If you look at what the China market is doing with live streaming, it’s more about really getting content marketing included in it, having influencers be live, and a lot of entertainment. So, hosts are—they’re actually celebrities in the market. They’re micro-influencers, and they engage very, very heavily with the audience. In fact, during flash sales, they’ll actually call out their followers by name, and say, “You need to take advantage of this deal now.”

So, there is a heavy, heavy focus on entertainment, which to me is a critical component of retail going forward. So, it’s about making shopping fun. The challenge for the U.S. and other Western markets is that it’s coming in places where it will help in segments that are struggling. So, the last forecast that I just saw, department stores will be down 29% this year, especially soft goods, which includes apparel, will be down 20% this year.

So, it is a good idea. I’m not sure that the brands that are struggling or have the appetite to invest, to really turn shopping into entertainment, with the stats that you cited in terms of really creating a new channel of Livestream.

quote image about livestream shoppingDavid Adelman:
I believe they’re calling it entertain-mers, which is a weird name, I know. But we are living in a visual world. I mean, we’ve gone from some typeface back in the old days and script and copy to social media platforms that involve pictures, videos, images, and it’s just progressing.

A recent study I saw from MIT said that the brain processes 90% of information visually, which really shocked me because we have other senses. Our sense of smell is very important. Our oral processes are very important. But I think this platform by Taobao, I think it’s amazing. It makes QVC, I hate to say it, look like it’s still in the 1950s.

When I watch the show now, I’m like, “Oh my God. QVC takes me back now.” But the contrast is severe. But yeah, I think it involves the best of all worlds, really. You can put your best salesperson out there, where, normally, in a retail store, you can’t always do that. You can put your influencers out there. You can have the actors, live demos, and then sell it right online, right as you’re experiencing it. What could be better than that? I think adoption might be better amongst Gen-Z and millennials, as opposed to boomers, because they’re used to these types of interfaces. But, yes, I believe it is the future—but I think it’ll take a while to adapt to North America, for sure.

Tony D’Onofrio:
That totally makes sense, but you got to remember that the store is the most profitable place for retail. E-commerce and all these other channels tend to take profit because you end up adding additional costs, and all you have to do is listen to the last Amazon call where they basically made a lot on the top line when making nothing on the bottom line because they’re spending it all to actually keep the channel going. So, I do think that live streaming is an example that it gets you there, but it’s got to be part of the mix, not the end-all solution.

This conversation first appeared on the May 18 episode of the Retail Rundown.

Also, if you want more information about the future of retail, check out our new Whitepaper on that very subject.

The future of contactless retail whitepaper

Meet The Challenges Of Today's Digital Economy

Ready to take that first step and rise to your digital potential? Contact Valtech today.
Talk to us
Meet The Challenges Of Today's Digital Economy

Transform your Retail Offering

Transform Retail

Learn how